Why become a member? ×

Experience counting for nothing

Guest MoJo

I have been playing bass in bedrooms and in bands for nigh on 30 years yet still struggle to recreate the bass sound I hear in my head in a live situation. I recently swapped from using a Laney B1 head and 4x10 cabinet to a Trace Elliot 122H (2x10 + HF, GP12 pre) after hearing a local band in which the bass player (using the new 500w Trace 2x10 combo) had [u]that[/u] sound.

My live sound seemed to improve thanks mainly to judicious use of the on-board dual band compressor but was still far from perfect. Last Saturday's gig was the clincher for me. In our set we include a cover of Jet's 'Are You Gonna Be My Girl' starting with the bass and tambourine. The sound of my BB414 (both pick-ups on full and tone control wide open) through the Trace was awful. No warmth, no punch. Then today, to add insult to injury I went to see a local band play. The bass player was playing a Mexican Jazz though a Peavey Nitrobass head into a Marshall 4x12 cabinet and it sounded great. Exactly the sound I was after. Not too bright and not too woolly either, really punchy and cut through the mix superbly. When the guy added a little distortion while playing The Automatic's hit 'Monster' it was blissful. I wanted all his gear and in the break I told him so.

Why do I find it so difficult to find that sound. I've tried boosting the mids/low-mids and cutting the top-end a bit but I cannot get a sound that I'm happy with. Can anyone help me?

I'd suggest a few things. Firstly you were not hearing the other people's sound from the player's perspective. 2 feet in front of your cab it will sound totally different to down there in the mosh pit...

I asked a knowledgable bassplaying mate to come for a rehearsal session and to widdle with my knobs with a free hand, matron. :rolleyes:
Made a big difference.

Apart from that, of course, it's in the fingers and they would probably sound jus as good through your gear with your bass :)