Why become a member? ×

Would like to upgrade head unit!

:amaze:

So I just got my new cab in the mail today, an Avatar 2x12 (www.avatarspeakers.com), and i went and hooked it up to test it out.

Now, this cab is rated at 500watts RMS, so it shouldn't be distorting being played with a peavey probass500 (375watts at 4ohm where i have it with another cab). But I find that when I turn the pre-gain/post-gain above half-way, it distorts like mad, and isn't even very loud.

I'm a bit disappointed, having just dropped most of my christmas money on a new cab that I can't even play to its potential with my current head.

SO, point to the story ... I'm looking to upgrade my head. I've been looking at maybe buying a separate pre-amp and power-amp, but I'm not quite sure what i'm looking for in a pre-amp. also, i'm not sure that this would be the most cost-effective thing to do ... being a poor college student, I can't afford to spend thousands of dollars.

I'd say my budget is around 600$ (though if i could find a website that offers no-interest payment plan, i could increase that by a bit), and would like to get as many clean watts as possible. I am open to using a tube amp (i think you call them valves here, or is that a different thing?)/ hybrid, but I'm rather uninformed about them, so again ... not sure what I'm looking for.

oh, i am in the US, if that makes any difference.

No point in buying separate preamp and poweramp, really, if you're not actually choosing a particular pre and a particular poweramp.

There are loads of choices out there, the first three I can think of:

- a Markbass Little Mark II: solid-state
- the new Hartke LH500 (cheap): hybrid
- the Peavey Tour 450: solid-state

Thank you Boneless.

I was actually looking at the Hartke1000.

What are the advantages of having a tube pre-amp?

EDIT:

Also, I'm looking at the specs for the Hartke1000, and i'm a bit confused about this part: