Why become a member? ×

Has Anyone here got an ACG Bass?

Spoombung

I'm currently trying to check out all the UK custom bass makers at the moment as I need a short scale bass made and I'm anxious to try an example of a luthiers work before I come to a decision about ordering.

I've heard a lot about [b]ACG basses[/b] and their preamps being great - but I'm slightly concerned after reading about their 'asymetric' necks (I have no experience of that) and looking at the [i]recurve[/i] body shape gives me the impression it might slide off your lap in the sitting position.

The only way to know for sure is to [b]PLAY[/b] one of course!

Has anyone got one in the London area that I might have a go on for half and hour?

Kev

Hi Kev
I am the lucky owner of two ACG's and I have to say, the asymmetric neck profile on mine are really comfortable and easy to get around on, and I think most people who have played them voiced the same reservations, but were pleasantly surprised. The Recurve shape balances perfectly, whether standing or sitting and doesn't slide off your lap at all. I've been gigging mine week in, week out for over a year, now, and couldn't be happier. I'm GAS free these days!!
I'm down in Swindon, and if you are ever down this way you're welcome to try them
Cheers
Andy

[attachment=17159:DSCF0001.JPG]

Edited by andyonbass

[quote name='andyonbass' post='353573' date='Dec 13 2008, 02:18 PM']Hi Kev
I am the lucky owner of two ACG's and I have to say, the asymmetric neck profile on mine are really comfortable and easy to get around on, and I think most people who have played them voiced the same reservations, but were pleasantly surprised. The Recurve shape balances perfectly, whether standing or sitting and doesn't slide off your lap at all. I've been gigging mine week in, week out for over a year, now, and couldn't be happier. I'm GAS free these days!!
I'm down in Swindon, and if you are ever down this way you're welcome to try them
Cheers
Andy