Why become a member? ×

-

Jus Lukin

The QR10PA is pretty light as it is. The Roland is nice, but volume can be an issue. I've been using the QR10PA for a couple of years now and I'm very happy with it. I've also just bought a tiny battery operated mixer from Maplins (they have several, from £10 to £30 depending on features), so that I can put a few more things through it.

When I checked the Roland, I felt that it would not be enough volume for me. With the QR10PA I have always had a lot more in store than I needed, even when I played with a trumpet player, sax player, three guitars through mini Roland amps (the guitar versions are good for busking, plenty loud if needed) and a drummer playing either a cajon, or a small snare and hi-hats. Playing out in the park, it's noisy, it can be windy... the Roland would have been drowned after a few feet. If you're always playing with a quieter band in quiet situations, then the Roland might be ok, but I thought the QR10PA was more versatile for not that much more weight (it's still light and easy to carry - but forget about the built-in wheels, they're rubbish, I just grab it by one of the side bars, they make a better handle than the actual handle). I've used it busking in quieter places, and busking in places we were allowed to be louder, like by the beach. We also played in pubs, "open-mic" style, where we can turn up a bit more. It just works, and battery life is good, so far.

[quote name='CamdenRob' timestamp='1433776226' post='2793845']
The trouble with these mini battery amps is they really don't have enough power to be of any use.. They are loud enough but it won't sound like a bass guitar.
[/quote]

Have you tried them?

The QR10PA definitely sounds like a bass... <_<

[quote name='mcnach' timestamp='1433778780' post='2793885']
Have you tried them?

The QR10PA definitely sounds like a bass... <_<
[/quote]

I've tried the roland one but I've never even heard of the QR10PA so I can't speak for that :)