Why become a member? ×

Harley Benton?

There are quite a lot of people selling HBs on ebay for the new price or more. There's one shop that seems to list HB instruments for prices higher than new. Discussed here: [url="http://basschat.co.uk/topic/240288-thomann-reseller/page__p__2492261__hl__harley%20benton__fromsearch__1#entry2492261"]http://basschat.co.u..._1#entry2492261[/url]

I've only played a couple of USA Fenders, and they all played really nicely. If those claims of HBs matching USA Fenders were true, I'd be having one.

Edited by Annoying Twit

I asked him if it was a Harley, and got this response:

"[color=#000][font=arial,sans-serif][size=2]Hi and thanks for the inquiry . I am a guitarist really not a bass player. all the information you need about the bass is in my listing. the headstock is round but not exactly a fender shape,,,a friend of mine who plays bass professionally set it up for me there is No logo on.. Im no expert on these things but my friend valuabley informs me that the vast majority of guitars nowadays are all made in China. as are fender squires. so basically you are paying for a guitar made in china with a fender logo on.The majoraty of shops now import guitars from china and put thier own brand on. it dosnt interest me where a guitar is made as long as it plays good personally. There are literally hundreds of shops on ebay selling guitars made in china for 3 times what you could buy them for... theres a guy who sells Gibson replicas imported from china with the logo on for £400.Cash generator regularly sell replica guitars ect I was in there yesterday and they had a Fender precision bass exact replica for £300 apparently they have started importing them. as a collector and player I have a few real fenders myself .the squire one made in china plays better than my usa strat go figure eh...but wouldn't pay that much again personally.each to their own i suppose.