Why become a member? ×

Which replacement neck?

badboy1984

My P bass currently is using a rosewood P bass neck. Altho it got a fender decal on but is not a fender so i treat it like part bass instead. I love the bass and it sounded good but I would prefer a maple neck bass instead. After searching on ebay i found the following:

1) http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/New-P-Bass-Neck-Maple-Fingerboard-Satin-finish-Vitage-Color-free-shipping-/221077232821?pt=Guitar_Accessories&hash=item33793adcb5

2) http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Jazz-bass-maple-neck-20-frets-black-dots-nitro-finish-top-quality-brand-new-/121057369867?pt=UK_Guitar_Accessories&hash=item1c2f94df0b

3) http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=330901797864&fromMakeTrack=true&ssPageName=VIP:watchlink:top:en

Not sure which is trust worthy actually.

Hiya, I am no expert but can certainly share my own recent experience.

I bought a fretless neck from eyguitars (the first seller). Neck turned up a few weeks later. Overall, no problems fitting it to bass although the machine head holes were a bit tight and took a bit of work to be able to fit machine heads. The neck itself was slightly longer than original Squier neck and the side markers (remember fretless) were in the wrong place (assuming markings matched for fretted) but I have since re-marked them. So a few little issues but all sorted with a bit of work and for the price I'm happy. The neck plays fine and looks great.

Having seen the second seller's auctions when I was looking, I'm fairly confident that these are the same necks as first seller (possibly bought from Hong Kong by Dutch seller) but of course with extra postage costs hence why I went with buying the neck direct myself.

I did contact the third seller at the time but he had no fretless necks so that ended that avenue for me.

Hope my experience helps a little.