Why become a member? ×

Advice on taking up double bass

Lazy James

Hi there, I'm a bass guitarist interested in learning double bass.
I've done some research on buying a new double bass and it looks like I'd be getting a CCB due to a limited budget(Student!), most likely one of the rockabilly styled ones from Thomann. Something better quality if I could find a bargain locally, hey I can wish haha.

At the moment I'm still at the research stage, I'd love to play DB and figure if I'm going to start, I should start sooner rather than wishing I had later on. So I'm basically looking for advice from more experienced DBers and even newer ones who could share how they got started and what to expect?

Cheers.

I started about 2 years ago, after 20 years of bass guitar. First up, you can get a good quality beginner bass for around £500, but it probably won't be a new bass - keep your eyes on the used market and you can get something very playable around that price point. If you buy new you will probably have to spend another £100 getting it set up and £80+ on a decent set of strings.

Tips for playing the damn thing: Take it slow and steady. Don't even attempt to play the stuff you play on bass guitar - seriously, do not judge your progress by how much of the bass guitar repertoire you can reproduce on double bass, it's a different instrument, trying to reproduce bass guitar music on it will leave you very despondent very early on. Instead work with what you've got: You will have to play less notes, so concentrate on getting the most out of the fewest notes you can play, making sure your intonation is good, and your notes are well chosen!