Why become a member? ×

I've been liberated.

Benplaysbass

I'm now a free man, just moved into the realms of wireless playing. No more wires round my feet. After lots of reading on here and everyones reviews and opinions I went for the Line 6 relay G30. Seems a good bit of kit so far. Now looking into rack mounted effects and gear. Just need to keep my space free of clutter, might be a bit of an ocd thing coming on.

Nice one, welcome to the club.
Ive been doing this for a few years now. While i dont move around much (at all most of the time) its nice to not feel cable around my feet, especially on smaller stages. It also great being able to go out front during sound checks.
I stopped using FX etc at about the same time as i didnt want any cables on the floor, although i do have a BDDI sitting on my amp.

I so desperately want to go wireless, and have done for many years. I hate all that spaghetti around my feet.

I've tried a few systems over the years, and IMO not one sounds as good as a cable. There's just something about a cable that sounds better. Technology moves on, so maybe it's time to try again!

Funnily enough Steve Lukather (I know he's not a bass player) has been wireless since I can remember... until this year. He's now ditched his wireless for a cable. :)

If you're happy with the sound and you don't get tied up in cable, then I envy you...I really do! :)

EDIT: I should add that I haven't tried a Line 6 relay G30 - maybe I'll check one out.

Edited by SteveK

I'll not get it no the cable/no cable and what sounds better argument but ive never noticed my AKG wireless systems to affect my tone at all, certainly not at gigs but then i dont go through a large PA most of the time so maybe its just not showing up.
For me thats what counts. im sure i might hear a difference at home but once the band are all fired its all good.
In fact i cant remember the last bass i had that i used a lead with so to me its just normal to use a wireless system.