Why become a member? ×

Away from home insurance

stewblack

I'm sure this has been covered but it will stand reiterating.
I share a lock up with my brother in law. He keeps classic motorcycles and I keep my trailer and speaker cabs. In a reasonably quiet location on a pleasant estate.
Well it got broken into and being just after Christmas I had more stuff than usual in there to make room in the house for the festivities. To cut this short my flight case full of cables, effects pedals, microphones, straps, tools, ear plugs, torch, strings, batteries, fast fret, set lists, recording stuff, power supplies, gaffa tape etc etc etc etc was taken. Either it was too easy (being on wheels) or they got surprised or didn't expect to see such big heavy boxes but that was (thankfully) all they took.
Now I'm a musician, and therefore disorganised, shambolic and utterly dependant on my partner for anything practical. In this case that means my wife. Unbeknown to me she examined our insurance a while back and discovered that my gear is covered under our hose insurance but not anywhere else. For a minor financial adjustment she was able to procure a 'contents away from home' add-on to our policy.
Bear in mind I once caught a punter walking out of a gig with a very nice Strat under his coat belonging not to me but to the band that had just finished, it is all too easy to lose precious kit. I mean to say we've all had to leave stuff in the car in some pretty dodgy locations right?
So as I say - get covered, if I wasn't then I'd be looking at a couple of grand to replace kit and that is money I don't have.
ps she just shouted through to say my camera, mountain bike and all are covered too.

[quote name='Blademan_98' post='1149990' date='Mar 4 2011, 11:39 PM']I have been wondering if I should get insurance now I am gigging on a more regular basis.

Does house insurance cover the stuff if it's at a paid gig?

Perhaps it would be best to get musicians insurance?