Why become a member? ×

2 cabs, 1 amp?

Guest leebass69

Guest leebass69

I've a slight query, I'm intending to run an Ampeg 210 cab and the 610 with an Ampeg svt350, is this asking too much of the amp as it'll run at 4 ohms?

I've never done this so before I get giddy with it I'd sooner find out if it's safe! The 610's connected by neutrik, the 210's potentially but jack. Or vera.

Ok I'm not funny but I'd appeciate any knowledge..

Lee :)

A bit of a mis-match with the cabs.. IMV
what is the power of the 2x10 and 6x10....?

I assume the amp is 350w in 4 ohms and the cabs are BOTH 8,..

It should work ok..but the 2x10 gets the same power as the 6x10 and I'd expect the 6x10 to be coasting and the 2x10 to be borderline struggling, if you are running near the max... depending on how good the actual chassis' are and Ampeg never used to use that great a chassis, IME.

The things I'd look out for would be that near to max power something may well be clipping and you'll need to know whether it is the cabs or the amps.. if the 6x10 was anything like 600 watts in power assuming a low..by todays drivers standards..100 per chassis, then I don't see much point using the 2x10.. IMHO as the 6x10 will/should easy handle the amp all on its own..

350watts into 4 ohms, means two 8 ohms cabs will get around 175watts each.. ..
any respectable 2x10 should eat that sort of load... but I'd check your cab ratings..

Guest leebass69

[quote name='JTUK' post='655553' date='Nov 15 2009, 11:04 PM']A bit of a mis-match with the cabs.. IMV
what is the power of the 2x10 and 6x10....?

I assume the amp is 350w in 4 ohms and the cabs are BOTH 8,..

It should work ok..but the 2x10 gets the same power as the 6x10 and I'd expect the 6x10 to be coasting and the 2x10 to be borderline struggling, if you are running near the max... depending on how good the actual chassis' are and Ampeg never used to use that great a chassis, IME.