Why become a member? ×

Hello from Reading

shiekaa

Hi there everyone, I'm a 18 year old bassist, been playing for a good part of 7 years. I love to play metal, could spend all day doing picking exercises with a drummer or just by my self ha!

I actually used to prefer learning about music theory to playing so i spent a while when i sort of became a theory hermit and wanted to learn everything so paid for just theory lessons for half a year!

I also enjoy learning everything I can from other people, everyone can teach you something!

Currently in a band that is recording and will post up the myspace when finished.

I use an Ibanez soundgear 5 string (looking to upgrade :) )

I use an Ampeg SVT2PRO head with two Ampeg B410HE's

nice to meet all of you!

Edited by shiekaa

Hi and welcome :)
I'm not a Reading bassist as such, but I lived there for the first 23 years of my life (well I lived in Shinfield actually, just the other side of the M4) and my dad still lives in Sonning, so does that count? :rolleyes:

[quote name='stevefletch59' post='506202' date='Jun 5 2009, 11:13 AM']Welcome to the forum, thats not a bad amp for a 17 year old, well for anyone really ![/quote]

You need to be that sort of age to be abe to lift one :)

I just about qualify under the RG postcodes as well - Henley is, confusingly, actually in Oxfordshire but has a Reading postcode!

Last time I lived in Reading (well up St Peter's Hill in Caversham but pretty close!) was when I was 18 as it happens - God that was a long time ago. . .

Wecome to Basschat. I was born in Woodley and then lived in Earley. I went to Forest Grammar School where les Hurdle was one year behind me. Who Les? Well he went on to become a good session player on bass. He was on Art Garfunkel's Brighteyes and did Donna Summer's first Disco LP for Giorgio Moroder.