Why become a member? ×

Multifx help

Richie_b

Hi all

Looking to tap into some of the collective wisdom here....

I play in a two piece band where we swap between instruments. Both of us have straight-to-DI boards & both are a little more guitar focused, since both of us did guitar first.

We discussed getting a relatively simple bass set up that we share, which means that we can produce consistent bass sounds....

I have looked around a bit & note the Zoom B6 gets reviewed well. So the questions are:

Is this happy gigging? (I assume this is a yes) &

Are there other things I should consider? & how do these options compare to the B6?

It needs to be bass-focussed (I am still learning how to get bass sounds I like & my guitar-focussed rig offers waaay too many options, many of which don't work well with bass, so I struggle to narrow it), it needs to amp & cab model & not be too expensive. I've seen the Boss GT 1b, but no idea how it compares, but there may be other options too.

Your thoughts would be very welcome....

What is the guitar focussed rig you're running?

I use a Line6 POD Go for all my bass modelling / effects, so if you have something like that then running a guitar/bass set up is as easy as switching between presets.

Edited by Skybone

I use a Line6 Helix Floor with my Bass VI where I am often playing "bass" and "guitar" parts in the same song, and the alternative would be some complicated and unwieldy switchable dual amp and cab rig. 

TBH most of the time I'm not using any amp or cab models as IMO a bass amp is just an EQ section and maybe drive if it has some valves in it and bass cabs are essentially LPFs, so the right EQ and drive models are far more useful to me as I pick and mix and be tied to a particular EQ and drive sound from an amp. When I do use an amp model it has been picked mostly because I like the drive sound, and I'll try and set the EQ on it flat and use a separate EQ module to fit the sound into the band mix.