Why become a member? ×

Back to the low frequency fold

Chris Hales

Hi,

I’ve been playing bass for over 40 years - started out in a re-bodied Futurama, moved on to an Antonia fretless Precision copy (Percy Jones was a huge early influence)

My musical interests have moved through pop, rock, folk rock, fusion, jazz and pretty much all the way back again!

These days I’m playing my 1980s Westone neck now hosted by a Boogie Precision body (weighs a ton) with an extra Bartolini at the (Schiller) bridge.  Recently got a Cort Rithimic (did I mention how much I love Jeff Berlin’s playing?) both played through a Markbass something or other.

I never lost the passion for playing bass but loving it being my main instrument again!

Hello to everyone - I’m sure there is some great advice here I can benefit from!

Cheers!

Chris

2 hours ago, Chris Hales said:

Thank you!

One thing I meant to say is that I’ve never owned a Fender bass.  Played a few but never been “wowed”.  Am I missing out?

That way lies a can of worms. Personally (having owned a couple) I'd say no, but you will find several fanatics on here who will tell you that all anybody needs is a Precision with flatwounds.

• Haha 1

The nearest thing I had to a Fender was a fretless Squier Jazz from new.  It had a dead spot on the finger board.  After about three weeks, I traded it in against a Vantage fretless with P and J style pups.  That was in the eighties.  I still have the Vantage.

I have no particular hankering for a genuine Fender.

• Thanks 1

The Cort Rithimic (awful name) is definitely Fender inspired but is much more engaging than any Fender I’ve played.  Once I start playing I really don’t want to stop!  It’s just great fun!

On the other hand, the Fender designs are, rightfully, classics.  And maybe something magical I’ve missed if you find the right one?

22 hours ago, tauzero said: