Why become a member? ×

First ever bass refinish/Mod- All Finished!

Lord Sausage

Hi,
I bought the following bass of ebay for £23. It's an Infinity 5 String. Basically I'm gonna rip everything out of it. Strip the finish, refinish. Buy new pickups, pots bridge and probably tuners. I've never done anything like this before and I'm probably no good at it. I've read loads of threads on here and read things on the internet. Just gonna bash ahead. I'll put it all up on here stage by stage. Please feel free to help and advise!
Here's some pics of it in current state. The volume pots aren't attached to the body inside.
Cheers.
[attachment=139963:20130728_112656.jpg] [attachment=139964:20130728_112709.jpg]
[attachment=139965:20130728_112718.jpg] [attachment=139966:20130728_112734.jpg]

Edited by Lord Sausage

Ok, just started taking it to bits. Looks like it's made of plywood. I have a couple of questions. ( Bear in mind this is the first time i've took a guitar to pieces, these will seem like stupid questions)

1) When i took the pick ups out there was foam pads under the pick ups. Will i have to keep these for the new pick ups to sit on?
2) I intend to buy new vol and tone pots and jack socket. Should i keep the wires from my old ones or will they come with some?

I've just looked again, I just buy new wire don't I. It's all the same. However, do you need a differnt type of wire to go between pots and bridge?

Edited by Lord Sausage

Yes, disappointing isn't it when you're expecting a nice piece of alder, or swamp ash and you get this lump of ply. But hey, what do you expect for £23?
But you knew this.

1)The foam is there to give springiness to the pups, so the screws push against the foam and you have the pups stable at a given height.
If your foam looks knacked you can replace this with a strip cut from an old foam mouse mat.