Why become a member? ×

Strange theory....

PlungerModerno

I was looking at this article... and I read something strange.

[url="http://bassmusicianmagazine.com/2012/06/ten-tips-for-getting-the-best-stage-sound-possible-for-your-bass-by-igor-saavedra/"]http://bassmusicianm...-igor-saavedra/[/url]

Take a look at number 7. :dash1:

I'm not an Acoustic Engineer or an expert on human hearing... but isn't this a myth?

[quote][color=#333333]Lower frequencies are quite longer than higher frequencies, so they need more distance to “Express themselves in your ears”.[/color][/quote]

??????????????? I thought I could hear lows in my headphones.
I've seen some spec'd down to 8 Hz!

Besides, You don't need a full wavelength to hear a note.... the pressure-waves are mechanically traveling between the source and the listener. If you can hear it at 10 m you should be able to hear it at 10 mm.

[quote][color=#333333]The higher the volumes the more bass frequency content on your sound… always consider that![/color][/quote]

??????????????? I've read about the fletcher munsen curve, and how louder sounds better, and below about '80 dB' lows sound attenuated (I use quotes because I know I'm not using dB correctly. I need to define distance etc.).
Once I am above low volumes and below the point of ear distortion... the lows pretty much keep up with the rest as far as I know.

Maybe I need to read up some more. IMO the author of the article needs to too though.

What do you personagables think? :blink:

[quote name='Mr. Foxen' timestamp='1340720430' post='1708539']
The distance required before you can hear bass thing is made up, but sort of observable in some circumstances, mostly a flat ceiling and a source without mids.
[/quote]

That's what I suspected. There are a lot of 'common sense' ideas out there. I've heard it's due to comb filtering and the dreaded standing waves :shok:

[quote name='LiamPodmore' timestamp='1340720538' post='1708541']