Why become a member? ×

Lovetone Meatball

TG Flatline

Anyone got one or used one that can let me know how they found it on bass? I've steered clear of all filters (except phasers) thus far, but I fancy getting a bit dirty and building one of these. I imagine the HP mode is largely useless on bass, though like I say I am relatively new to this so any insight would be useful!

To give you more of an idea, I'm predominantly interested in the auto-wah side of things for now, but I didn't think it would be worth building or buying something that would be limited to just that, and I can build the Meatball for less than I'd buy an auto-wah anyway, and it would have more features...

Also worth noting that because I'd be building it, I can add more to it. One option would be to have a blendable octave-down in the same box (much like the setup on the EHX Micro Synth) and a Muff or other fuzz hardwired into the FX Loop.

Any advice/warnings/mockery greatly appreciated! :)

Edited by TG Flatline

My advice would be to use this PCB: http://musicpcb.com/pcbs/meat-sphere/ and build it with board mount pots and switches to save yourself a massive hassle with offboard wiring.

I haven't tried it so I can't say how well it works on bass.

Also, I think it's a lovetone product rather than lovepedal :)

With my Qtron leaving the building today I'm looking at building a McMeat (Meatball clone) at the minute, but simplifying a lot of the switching options that i know i won't use which is why i'm not going the PCB route. Building on perfboard to start with. I'd like to make it super small (1590B size) but I may have to go to the 1590BB instead. I haven't decided whether I want to keep the fx loop yet, which will have a big effect on enclosure size - if I keep it it will be buffered bypass so I can use the fx in the loop without the envelope - all sounds very Groove Regulator doesn't it!