Why become a member? ×

Protools GAS

charic

Any protools 10 users on here? I'm a huge protools fan and want to get back into using it so I'll be visiting DV once I have the funds together :)

Just wondering about peoples recent views on it? I've not used it since college as my uni was logic only. I distictly remember preferring Pro Tools though :)

I've just had to upgrade to PT10, and I'm absolutely loving it. The bonus with PT is that you can now use any interface (I think up to version 8 you had to use the Digidesign thingy, which limited you to 2 tracks - unless you wanted to spend 4 figures). The audio engine is brilliant quality, and that was the deciding factor in convincing me to move from Cubase (which I had been using for 20 years I might add). The workflow is really quick too, it's not really a DAW that gives you too many options to be distracted with (unless that's what you want).

One word of caution though, if you're doing predominantly MIDI based stuff then PT ain't the best for this. It'll do everything, but the GUI when sequencing with MIDI is a bit of a pain in the arse.

[quote name='paul_5' timestamp='1332332136' post='1586699']
I've just had to upgrade to PT10, and I'm absolutely loving it. The bonus with PT is that you can now use any interface (I think up to version 8 you had to use the Digidesign thingy, which limited you to 2 tracks - unless you wanted to spend 4 figures). The audio engine is brilliant quality, and that was the deciding factor in convincing me to move from Cubase (which I had been using for 20 years I might add). The workflow is really quick too, it's not really a DAW that gives you too many options to be distracted with (unless that's what you want).

One word of caution though, if you're doing predominantly MIDI based stuff then PT ain't the best for this. It'll do everything, but the GUI when sequencing with MIDI is a bit of a pain in the arse.
[/quote]

I'd forgot about the midi PITA but I have reason for that :)