Why become a member? ×

Mixing and Layering

badboy1984

Hi,

I'm kinda new to recording and mixing etc.

The main instrument I'm using a midi drum which play in toontrack ezdrummer, audio track bass guitar, mic acoustic, electric guitar clean and distort electric guitar.

I'm having so much trouble with distort guitar because I just realise you need to layer the distort guitar and pan them as well to get a good distort sound without being too muddy or thin in the mix etc.

Was wondering what else do I need layering and pan? Only the distort guitar need layering?

Big subject!

You need to be adept with panning, eq, multitracking, compression, reverb, limiting, etc etc etc to get a great mix.

All of which is pointless if you havent got a well tracked source in the first place, good kit, well played in a good room, properly mic'ed with a decent mic are also required.

I've try layering and EQ for each layer etc and reduce the distortion and it sound much better....... but when i mix the song out in cubase and play it back on my ipod with headphone, the distortion guitar sound completely loss in the mix and become muff. It sounded decent on the monitor speaker and pc speaker .....

Yeah i gonna do it tonight cos at work atm.

but I've try this last night.

I've done some testing last night again.

Like I said, it sounded ok on monitor speaker and pc speaker. Thats a good start already. Sounded ok on my dad's bose sound system but on ipod you can't hear no distortion at all except some more nasty bass added to the song. I thought is the headphone that is bad so i use a different set of headphone instead of the ipod headphone. The result is even worse.

So I tried the headphones again on my pc speaker and my dad's sound system, it sounded ok. So is not headphone problem.

Only thing I've not try yet render the track with distortion guitar only and try play it back on the ipod to see can i hear the track or not. If it doesn't, i think i got some problem here .....