Why become a member? ×

New to bass amps

DaveMal

Hi, im a guitarist but im taking up bass to fill in for a mates band. I currently just have the bass and practice using my recording interface and my monitors. As i already have a quite expensive guitar amp setup i dont want or have the room for another setup for bass.

I have read the sticky at the top of the page about DI into PAs etc.. as a short term solution would it be useable to just get something like an MXR M80, Sansamp Bass DI or Line 6 Bass pod XT live and go straight into the PA.. and thats it.. no bass amp or would i come up against some problems??

Cheers, David.

[quote name='lemmywinks' post='1179253' date='Mar 28 2011, 11:02 AM']As long as you have decent monitoring then it's an ideal situation. Nothing to carry!
If your monitors are just for vocals then you won't be able to hear yourself.

Amps aren't actually needed nowadays, we just like 'em![/quote]

Sacriledge!

Blasphemy!!

Be gone foul spirit!!!!!

[quote name='51m0n' post='1179276' date='Mar 28 2011, 11:24 AM']Sacriledge!

Blasphemy!!

Be gone foul spirit!!!!![/quote]

Technically, you're wrong.. your amp, which I am a BIG fan of, is really bass monitor. Unless you play in band that has no PA or you play where there is no PA, you amp is really only for you..

MXR or Sansamp and VERY GOOD monitoring will work a treat..

That said, I still rather a little amp behind me.. but the FOH is always hearing your DI

I played a big festival and their glorious SWR 6x10 rig, that was supplied, stopped working just before the show.. my trusty sansamp saved the day and sounded miles better..

[quote name='algmusic' post='1179303' date='Mar 28 2011, 11:42 AM']Technically, you're wrong.. your amp, which I am a BIG fan of, is really bass monitor. Unless you play in band that has no PA or you play where there is no PA, you amp is really only for you..

MXR or Sansamp and VERY GOOD monitoring will work a treat..