Why become a member? ×

Improvement needed

burray

So I've been playing for however many years now, and I've been gigging for what's probably pushing ten of those years. The band I'm don't play easy route note punk stuff or anything (not that there's anything wrong with that) and I like to make basslines a bit more interesting, but my ability when it comes to freestyle or jamming should be far beyond what it is considering the years I've played.

Yes, it's down to my own laziness, but I'd like to fix it. Does anyone have any advice for some decent practice lines/riffs/runs/etc to help me improve my ability in general? The stuff I play is [url="http://www.myspace.com/columbiannecktie"]HERE[/url] for anyone interested. This isn't an advert for the band, that's just so you can hear the kind of thing I play. We had a break for a year or so but I'm back on the bass and loving it again now.

Much appreciated! :)

[quote name='chaypup' post='1162974' date='Mar 15 2011, 12:37 PM']Take lessons, learn to read music if you don't already. :)[/quote]

I had years of lessons back in the day (I'm only 26, but this was still a while ago) and I can read notation but have never used it for the bass. I've always used tab.

I've never had a problem learning songs and playing lines, but find it difficult to improvise. It's weird really. I can write bass lines for our songs, etc, I just think it's a confidence thing or maybe a case of getting to know the fretboard and where to go during a jam.

[quote name='burray' post='1162979' date='Mar 15 2011, 12:43 PM']I had years of lessons back in the day (I'm only 26, but this was still a while ago) and I can read notation but have never used it for the bass. I've always used tab.[/quote]
In that case......

Take lessons and learn to read music :)

Seriously,if you can read why haven't you applied it to the bass?