Why become a member? ×

Picking up the bass and finding the passion from a long hiatus

Laurence

Hello everyone,

Bit of a random one really, but I’m sure it’s something that many of us on here may have experienced. I’ve been playing bass since I was about 12/13 years old (I studied Bass at ACM from 17), to be honest it was the only thing that was ever in my peripheral vision in terms of hobby and career hopes. I’m now 30 and would really like to start playing again, but I’m lacking the passion, confidence and where to start from.

If anyone’s been through the same thing, I’d love to hear from you! Any help or advice would me much appreciated 🙏

Many thanks in advance,

Laurence

Just do it.

I took time out here and there for years at a time due to work pressure, family etc. I regret not just getting on with it and had I done so would be far better than I am.

Find others to play with. Be encouraged. Its a great thing to be able to play music. Don't throw away the time and effort you already put in. Build on it and keep going. 😀

I started at 15/16 yrs old, took lessons for few yrs and started in bands. I was a fanatic for playing bass, it was my main focus in life altho i had a great well paid job i always considered bass my hobby. Don't get me wrong if the perfect opportunity had come along i may have jumped at it but i guess i was just realistic about things.

At age 35 i had other priorities in life and gave up bands altogether altho still playing at home on occasion. I kept my last decent bass from 1989 my Warwick Thumb NT.