Why become a member? ×

MUSICMAN stingray 4 / 5 & Sterling - Same sound??

Shonks

met a guy recently who bought a Stingray 5, and promptly returned it. Hated the sound, and insisted it sounded the same as a Sterling bass.
He said the Stingray 5 and the Sterling use the same pre-amps and don't compare to the Stingray 4.
He recons Ernie Ball has changed the pre amp now, and they're crap

I personally have a Stingray 5 and have owned a 4 in the past. My SR4 was a 2 band early Ernie Ball with the old fashioned bridge and metal battery cover.
To me, the SR5 3 band EQ with the select switch in the bridge position sounds exactly the same as my old SR4, with the added bonus of the other selections and the mid EQ control. Its a wicked wicked sounding bass.

I don't see why Ernie Ball would want to change the sound of a bass that's already proved to be a winner.

I have no experience of the Sterling. Do the have a different sound??
Are the new SR5 different?
Do you think the Earlier SR5 sounds like the SR4, and the later ones come to that!?

Whats going on - love to know what you guys have to say!!

Edited by Shonks

The Stingray 5 is a bit strange. It has the looks of the Silouette guitar and the electronics of the Sterling which is a bit strange in itself since there is now a 5 string Sterling - surely it would be better to change the 5 String Stingray to have the same electronics as the 4 string.

the preamp in the Stingray has changed over the years from the first 2 band Eq models to the 3 band EQ. If you want more info on the preamps, go to the EB forum and go into the thread that begins 'dating your musicman' or something like that. In there, there is a link to a whole host of info about the evolution of all the components of the Stingray.