Why become a member? ×

Bridges

agoulding

I am thinking about modding my my ibby srx and i wanna change the bridge. Whats the score with getting bridges, can you simply attach them by screwing them on or do you have to go by the screw holes, the size or what? i have no experience altering hardware on basses so i would appreciate any advice.

churrs. alex.

Why do you want a new bridge?

The Ibby ones are fairly substantial, and most people upgrade their Fenders/Gibsons (or Ricks) because the original part is either rubbish (Fender's bent tin) or they need something with more adjustment (ie, replacing Gibbo's 3 point non adjustable one).

You can pretty much go via the screws as *most* bridges *should* line up due to the nature of where the strings have to be, but not always, quite a few need new holes put in the bass so as to be in the correct position.

Look in the hardware/repairs subforum: [url="http://basschat.co.uk/index.php?showforum=12"]http://basschat.co.uk/index.php?showforum=12[/url]

I would not do it personally. You could spend a lot of money but will still have a cheap bass (assuming it is a cheap bass). Ibanez gear is pretty good straight anyway so you could actually de-value the instrument. Put the money towards buying a new bass with black hardware. But then again I am having my Spitfire blacked up :)

First off, try contacting the manufacturer and seeing if they do a replacement bridge of the same kind, only in black. Buy it, unscrew the old one, screw on the new one.

Buying a different mfr's bridge and fitting it may involve re-drilling. If the strings pass over the bridge and then go through the body of the bass, those holes also may need re-drilling to match the bridge - this is much more tricky than just screwing a new bridge onto the face of the bass. You also need to take into account the string spread of the existing bridge, so the new one lines the strings up over the pick-up poles in the same way.