Why become a member? ×

Bass through guitar amp?

SH73

I read Steve Harris uses 412 marshall cabs with EV guitar speakers connected ti a bass amp. Is it technically possible to hook up 412 guitar cab to a bass amp without blowing the cab. I know you can blow a bass cab with bass amp etc.
I'm not very technical with this so excuse my lack of knowledge. However as far as the cab resistance matches with the amp resistance it should be tickety-boo.
Any input on this?

I've run a 4 string fretless Jazz through s Fender DeVille before now and it sounded excellent. Bill's right about the low end though; it's great for soloing and chord work, but it wouldn't be my first choice for a reggae gig 😉.

[quote name='Jus Lukin' timestamp='1493842640' post='3291257']
I have a 4x12 with Eminence SO2012s in it, with no small thanks for advice to Bill up there!

The sound is just what I was after, and it is indeed pretty tight on the lows. The mid punch and quick response are great too!

As for blowing the drivers in mine, they will handle 600 watts between them, and I think being in a small sealed box the pocket of air inside helps to control excursion.

Guitar drivers will of course tend to have lower power handling and excursion limits, so the degree to which they'll be at risk will depend what you're pushing them with, and how hard. Even with the SO2012s I can see how one might push the cab hard by trying to get it to do things it's not capable of. The same settings as with my ported cabs are much less bassy, so it would be easy to crank lots of power into the box to compensate, especially by turning up the lows.

I wanted to be safe by installing sturdy drivers; I think with guitar drivers you can do it, but need to be aware of what the speaker is capable of, and to use it within those limitations. The specs may not be much cop on paper, but in the right situation it can be one beast of a sound!
[/quote]

So it gives a nice midrange sound but not the boomy botttom sound