Why become a member? ×

SX Precision Modified with Geddy Lee neck. @@Sold@@

OldGit

@@ Sold subject to the usual @@

My trusty Modified SX Precision Bass,
Not your normal Rondo P Bass, this one was modified with a sexy Geddy Lee style Jazz neck by a US owner before I bought it then I cahanged a few things
the result is a stonkin' instrument.

Unfortunately its fine naroow, fast and gorgeous Jazz neck just doesn't work for me and my sausage fingered hands

The body is an SX Precision is gorgeous sunburst (as you can see). With after market tortie pick guard.
I'm no expert on spotting woods but I believe the body is Ash (or the Chinese version.)

The tuners are classic guenuine Fender elephant ears,

the bridge is the Gotoh 203 - that's the heavy version of the classic Fender one.

The pickup is a no-name aftermarket Precision one but works and sounds fine.
There is a battery box in the back from my experiment with an SE2A active preamp (also available, with the stackpot to allow a two hole fitting) and the body has had its control cavity enlarged a little and deepened a little to accommodate the stack pot (this operation, and the battery box fitting, was done by Dave Dearnley, renown Cardiff luthier)

Warwick Red Label strings just fitted. Med light gauge.

It plays really nicely and has an excellent "unplugged" natural resonance.

There are two cosmetic problems with the bass.
This scratch plate screw hole, from the previous black plate, shows a little if you get really close. Otherwise it's not apparent

and the Simpson's sticker hides a hole in the lacquer where I accidentally soldered a wire to the body.
I'll take the sticker off and photograph it if anyone is seriously interested.

More (and bigger) pictures are available.

I'd like £150 for this fine instrument.

Pick up in Cardiff/Bristol/London/Stanstead/Wilts or about £20 to ship.
It's a long shot but I may trade / PX for a Japanese P bass PB62 model with wide neck.

Edited by OldGit