Why become a member? ×

I may be wrong, but Ashdown 'Woolliness'...

Jono Bolton

Am I right in thinking that the "wooly" sound commonly associated with Ashdowm ABM amps is caused by the type of valve used in the pre-amp? I've used a MAG 300 head which doesn't have a valve stage, and it definitely didn't have a wooly sound to it.
If I am right, does that mean that replacing the valve would change the sound? I suffer from a lack of focus on my low E string, especially when I'm in Drop D.
The thought occurred to me the other day when I saw an advert for Watford Valves in a magazine, which reminded me of ahpook's For Sale thread for his Aria Platinum Drive pedal, where he said he'd tried out a few different valves because he didn't like the sound of the stock one.
Am I right in my thinking or have I missed the mark? I'm a novice when it comes to amp stuff really.

Edited by jono b

MB1. :)
Hello Jono!
Would probably be best to give Martin or Guy a call at Ashdown regarding this.I have never suffered this Wooly Syndrome,i would sugest you contact them before replacing a preamp valve as this will effectively null and void your Warranty!
ASHDOWN.U.K.....01245441155.. :huh:

I only really notice the dull sound on my E string, and I wont go stright into swapping the valve just yet, but it was more of a general query. Could swapping the valve give me more gain, a clearer sound, different tone depending on what tube I replace the stock one with?

Not convinced on that theory unfortunately. The valve is entirely bypassed unless the switch is enabled. And even if it is enabled - the Sovtek 12AX7 is used in dozens of models of amps worldwide, and I think the same problem would be apparent in those also.