Why become a member? ×

Thinking of my first modifications!

tangodown87

hi all.

was just looking for some advice, thinking of upgrading the pickups and bridge on this squier p bass i picked up last year.

I was thinking of changing the pickups as ive heard good things about the wizard pickups. i play mostly with a pick and i go for a nice bright "trebeley"(if thats the word) tone but with some deep bass power behind it.

however, i am not too technically minded and have no idea what im doing, is this going to be difficult for me to figure out?

i appreciate any wisdom!

[quote name='LukeFRC' timestamp='1329552431' post='1544081']
what are the current pickups? they aren't the original.
[/quote] nah, there some emgs the previous owner put in

[quote name='EdwardHimself' timestamp='1329583994' post='1544552']
It does require the use of a soldering iron though. Do you know how to use one?
[/quote]
haha, i did electronics at school, i knew that would come in handy some day!

Ill start looking to into getting some now, anyone got an idea with bridges?

[quote name='tangodown87' timestamp='1329640412' post='1545044']
nah, there some emgs the previous owner put in

haha, i did electronics at school, i knew that would come in handy some day!

Ill start looking to into getting some now, anyone got an idea with bridges?
[/quote]
solder bridges or bass bridges?

[quote name='tangodown87' timestamp='1329642145' post='1545068']
just bass bridges to replace the existing one, i assume thats correct as i dont know what a solder bridge is...haha!
[/quote]

Good question. I suppose the "standard" fender replacement bridge would be a Badass. One of them comes with 5 screws (can't remember if it is the I or II) which is the one you would want to replace this one with. Otherwise you could look at something like a Hipshot or Gotoh bridge.

[quote name='tangodown87' timestamp='1329745533' post='1546605']
yeah i hear a lot about Badass', are they easy enough to fit also?
[/quote]