Why become a member? ×

What a difference a tweak makes.

Benplaysbass

Well I'm not one for playing with the setup of my basses, there's no adjustment on my acoustic so have learnt to play with an action high enough to drive a car under, my Aria pro was setup a couple of years ago by Grandwazoo when he threw some new strings on and that has been pretty good. On my thunderbird I just played it as it came out of the box, should've known better really as I've been playing for about 17 years. So just had a fiddle and lowered the action and set the itonation(almost) as far as the stock bridge will allow and its like playing someone else's guitar, so much easier to play.
I'm hoping to get hold of a hipshot bridge and tuners for it pretty soon so will have to properly set it up then, are there any tips or tricks to get a good setup or is it just a personal thing.

Edited by Benplaysbass

There's plenty online for helping you with your setup but the only person that can set it up exactly the way you want it is you

[IMG]http://i927.photobucket.com/albums/ad111/Delberthot/Thunderbirdnew/DSC08781Large.jpg[/IMG]
[IMG]http://i927.photobucket.com/albums/ad111/Delberthot/Thunderbirdnew/DSC08777Large.jpg[/IMG]

[quote name='Benplaysbass' timestamp='1317411667' post='1390587']
Is that a hipshot bridge? Do they make a big difference over the stock three point one?
[/quote]

Yes - The added mass improves the balance and if you believe it, the sustain. i personally do as it sustains for ages and that's with flatwound strings. the third thing is that its so much easier to adjust the height, intonation and even string spacing. They are expensive and you can generally only get them from the US. Not sure how the Euro is doing against the dollar but they're a tad cheaper now than they were a few months ago.

Guest bassman7755

As already mentioned theres loads of stuff on t'inernet.

A quick checklist of the major things to look at would be: