Why become a member? ×

Jedson Telecaster Bass 'Avalon'

Mod_Machine

Hello,
This is my first rebuild/project and i have no previous experience of anything similar and have no friends who have attempted to restore an old instrument which can be used as a reference point. I am therefore been guided pretty much from one book, the internet and of course this sites friendly members!

The aim of this rebuild is for me to get a better idea of the instrument i actually play and a better understanding of how to upkeep the 'real' bass i have been gigging and recording with (Ibanez Jetking). The hope is to be able to get it back to a condition where it at least offers me a back up should i have a problem with the jetking i cant quickly get sorted.

Even though i have heard nothing other than how horrendous the Jedson telecaster bass is, and even though i know they are approx 35 years old, dont hold their tuning particualrly well AND are pretty much seen as the worst of some of the jap imports i have been totally swayed by the fact its such a rip off of the telecaster shape (my fav of the guitars at the moment). I love all the over the top chrome pickups and strange bridge. the fact that its small scale also means that although my little girl is only 11 months - when she does finally get big enough to want to learn to play - i have something small enough to give her and even more (cheesy i know) it will be something i built with her in mind.

I started lookign for a jedson about christmas and though looked at a few (which im sure you can imagine were in varying states of decay) i settled on one sold through this site by a very good member. Everything was exactly as described, and the seller was very honest and fair so not unhappy!

Photos to follow!

Edited by Mod_Machine

[attachment=69252:P1020595.jpg]