Why become a member? ×

Hi, from west yorkshire

Grinnreaper

Hi everybody

Just found the site and thought i'd say hello

i've been playing for around 20 years on and off in a variety of bands, mostly rock based but have also played upright slap bass in a couple of rockabilly/psychobilly bands.

The gear i'm using at the moment is an Ampeg SVT 3 Pro,a couple of Ampeg 4x10 cabs,and 2 Musicman stingrays,although i have recently been trying a Warwick Corvette Double Buck for a new project i'm involved with.

Cheers for now

GR

Thanks for the welcome guys,

i'm in wakefield,not far from leeds,The band is based in huddersfield,so i get about a bit

I must admit to wishing i'd never parted with the upright,you can't beat the sound of an old slap bass when it's done properly,just shopping about on the net for a double$$,the low end on those things is pretty awesome and just right for my side project.more on that later maybe :)

L8R

GR

we live in stanley which is just up the road from oulton,

Rooftop Gardens,crikey that takes me back a bit,not the same anymore though in fact i doubt you'd recognise town now,just about all the businesses on westgate have shut down now and been replaced by bars.

Makes the famous Westgate Run a bit of a marathon now :) :huh: :huh:

Guest subaudio

HI GR

Welcome to the site :)

I remember Rooftop Gardens too (I'm originally from Barnsley) they had 10p a pint nights that I played at once, and I didnt drink 'cos they had a nice foldback and PA/lights system, my mate the guitarist on the other hand.....

Marti

[quote name='Grinnreaper' post='86975' date='Nov 11 2007, 06:21 PM']Hi everybody

Just found the site and thought i'd say hello

i've been playing for around 20 years on and off in a variety of bands, mostly rock based but have also played upright slap bass in a couple of rockabilly/psychobilly bands.