Why become a member? ×

Lakland's pimped

GreeneKing

Hiya all I'm in sunny Plymouth being attacked by two Burmese kittens!

Yes it's a Bob Glaub bought from Thomann and it's filled a 'P' curiosity that was causing some GAS. I'm not a Fender expert but I'd say that these passive Laklands consistently sound like a 'good' Fender or even better. Those with greater experience may like to comment.

The BG has all the P bass tone that I had imagined. As for looking sexy, well I have this fantasy around the bass 'player' from the 'Addicted to Love' video and this bass :)

Both scratchplates came from Roger at Jeannie's Pickguards in the US. His service is exceptional and the prices are amazingly cheap. The fretboard on the BG is nicely figured too. My tutor has a black/maple Ray and I suppose I've been lusting after something that looks similar too.

I had a look at Steve Tayste_2000's gear on Friday and was blown away by the detail on his Overwater neck.

The Valenti P he's selling seems quite awesome too :huh:

Hiya Peter! Nice BG! ...and a twin to mine...

...question... do you find the top string close to the side of the neck? It's quite different from my 44-02D and I have found myself pinching it over at times.

cheers
Sahun

[quote name='ShaunB' post='7678' date='May 27 2007, 03:49 PM']...question... do you find the top string close to the side of the neck? It's quite different from my 44-02D and I have found myself pinching it over at times.

cheers
Sahun[/quote]

Can't you you tilt the D and G saddles a little to force the strings towards the centre of the board?

[quote name='BB2000' post='8956' date='May 30 2007, 04:58 AM']Can't you you tilt the D and G saddles a little to force the strings towards the centre of the board?[/quote]