Why become a member? ×

Greetings from Blackpool!

tony_m

After hanging around here for over a year now, I figured it was probably about time to introduce myself, so...

[cheesy grin]
Hi folks, my name's Tony, and I'm a Bedroom Bassist.
[/cheesy grin]

After umpteen years of listening to the bassline rather than the song, I got my first bass (a Tanglewood P-copy) in 1994, and started messing up REM and Neil Young songs with a mate from work who played guitar.

Unfortunately, changes of job and working patterns brought an end to our weekly sessions a year or so later, and I retired to my room to carry on messing up songs on my own. By this time, the Tanglewood had gone, replaced by a '78 Fender Musicmaster which I rescued from the clutches of a local music shop (they had the poor wee thing tuned to guitar pitch, then wondered why the neck was like a banana!!! :rolleyes: ), an MIJ '51 Precision Reissue (my first serious attack of GAS prompted by a review in [i]Bassist [/i]mag), and a CIJ '60s Reissue Jazz.

A combination of work and domestic circumstances soon reduced my activities to virtually nil, although I've always found it impossible to walk past the '51 P without picking her up and giving her a quick twang.

Fast-forward to March 2008 when a mate asked my opinion about a Squier Strat for his lad. I've always fancied a "maple 'n' black blocks" Jazz a la Les Pattinson, so after investigating the Squier website I suppose it was inevitable that a '70s VMJ would be added to the collection almost immediately.

Suitably inspired, I'm now playing (er, OK, messing about...) more than I have in ages, but still have no intention of demonstrating my lack of talent and ability in public. There again, never say never, eh?