Why become a member? ×

The Weekly Lesson

rslaing

There are a number of people who have shown interest in advancing their understanding of music theory and how to apply it to their instruments.

In response to Jakesbass and Major Minor (I think!) also showing interest in helping out with the topics, I am starting off the thread with a lesson on diatonic chords and modes (well, we have to start somewhere). I am sorting out a "syllabus" so there will be a degree of structure to this "course".

Why am I doing this? Although I have a degree of knowledge and practical experience (40 years :D) , I also hope to learn more about theory to an advanced level while this thread (hopefully) runs it's course, and perhaps a few things I didn't know about :)

This thread is not starting at ground level, you must be able to read music in both bass and treble clef. The reason for this is that I have nicked stuff from here and there to show examples, and I don't have the time to tab it, or transcribe the treble clef stuff in to bass clef. I will also upload limited material initially from a few excellent manuals I have acquired for interested players to read, absorb, and ask questions about. Anyway, I imagine anyone interested in theory will either have a basic reading ability, or will take the time out to learn.

If you want to learn, but have little knowledge, would like to learn to read music etc, please pm me separately with the topic that you want to learn about at grassroots level and I will forward material that will help. The questions or comments in the thread MUST be relative and on topic please?

So, let's give it a go.