Why become a member? ×

Adding video to recordings

lidl e

Hey all,

So ive finally got my recording setup sorted. I feel im able to get very good sound using ableton. 

How do people get great audio and video? Do they do separately and combine? Are they just using their phone camera for the audio? I dont think so.

I dont want to film me, but icwant to be able to film  my pedals while playing but still get the good audio.

@0175westwood29 any insight? Basically looking to do what you do, but shorter clips and without me on camera!

• Like 1

I have limited experience in this space... but I had to do some of this as part of my course work. In Adobe Premiere Pro you can separate the audio and video and put whatever audio track you like to the video. So you could import the two independent of each other and then synchronise them if you wish to do that. 

• Like 1

If the video is being shot at the same time as the audio recording, it's a simple matter, using Shotcut (a free video editor...) to replace the video audio track with the recorded audio track, simply lining up the two for synchronising. The resulting edited video, with added fade-in/fade-out, or other Fx as required, can then be rendered for YouTube, again very simply. Hope this helps... :friends:

• Like 1

5 hours ago, lidl e said:

Hey all,

So ive finally got my recording setup sorted. I feel im able to get very good sound using ableton. 

How do people get great audio and video? Do they do separately and combine? Are they just using their phone camera for the audio? I dont think so.

I dont want to film me, but icwant to be able to film  my pedals while playing but still get the good audio.

@0175westwood29 any insight? Basically looking to do what you do, but shorter clips and without me on camera!