Why become a member? ×

*sorted* I have a grand a want a fully carved double bass.

Guest subaudio

Guest subaudio

I can also add my Zeller hybrid as trade for the right bass, I'm based in central London

Edited by subaudio

• 3 weeks later...

[quote name='subaudio' post='487140' date='May 13 2009, 06:55 PM']I can also add my Zeller hybrid as trade for the right bass, I'm based in central London[/quote]
Hi

I am a beginner on stand up. (But already play electric bass)

am interested in buying a Zeller.

Would you be interested >

Thanks

david

Unless you're lucky I would think that you will struggle to get a proper fully carved instrument for that money. The point really, at that budget, is how does the instrument sound, whether it's laminate, carved wood or plastic for that matter. To get a really nicely crafted instrument with a strong fundamental tone will cost 10K plus (unless you're really lucky)
Old instruments are generally recognised for what they are and since the massive export to the US of tons of old instruments in the last 15yrs the prices have risen steadily. To get a new fully carved instrument by someone who can really make wood sing you just have to think of the man hours put into making an instrument (It's a lot) urgo the price.

So.... IMO at your budget don't think about provenance or how it's made just try some basses and choose the one that sounds right. (or start saving)

Edited by jakesbass

[quote name='mantekka' post='502132' date='May 31 2009, 10:39 AM']A few options at [url="http://www.thomann.de/ie/search.html?gk=trstka&bn=&pr=800a1200&kf=on&oa=pra&wgfid1=9618&wgf9618=3%2F4&wgfid2=9619&wgf9619=4&wgfid3=7424&wgfid4=9616&wgfid5=7425&wgfid6=9617"]Thomann.de[/url][/quote]
I'd be surprised if any of those basses were anything better than mediocre at best

Guest subaudio