Why become a member? ×

Jazz Bass with RS66LD

BassAdder60

Got them on my CS 64 Jazz. Current band is about 80% fingers 20% pick and they sound great. With the pick I tend to palm mute them for a soul/60's tic-tac vibe, almost a flat wound tone like that, especially with a bit of compression. 

I've also played them 'wide open' if you like with a pick in punk and rock bands, again they sound great - really snarly

Edited by NAS Bass
Added text

These were one of the first roundwood strings weren't they? I remember trying a set donkeys years ago when I started playing bass.

I recall they were the roughest feeling most abrasive string I've ever played leaving your finger tips sore after a few minutes of playing.

I guess they've improved them over the years.

4 minutes ago, Martin E said:

Nope, you can still cut cows horns with them...

But when they are broken in, they won't cut your fingers anymore and sound lovely.

• Like 1
  • Haha 1

Yep they are rougher than Nickel or Nickel Plated but in time this reduces and your fingers toughen more !

I like the extra sense of grip when you pluck with fingerstyle as it seems to speed up the note attack ?? !! 

Regarding pick … used it but then flipped back to fingers and I preferred the result. 

Good match of strings to bass I think 

14 hours ago, Martin E said:

These were one of the first roundwood strings weren't they? I remember trying a set donkeys years ago when I started playing bass.

I recall they were the roughest feeling most abrasive string I've ever played leaving your finger tips sore after a few minutes of playing.

Weren't The Who involved in their development? Or was that Marshall amps? Or both?

When I started playing, that’s all there was available, Rotos. I really dislike them. Very rough and uncomfortable on the fingers. As a player who now mostly uses flats, they’re the work of the devil.

1 hour ago, Rayman said: