Why become a member? ×

Matching a preamp with Lakland JH pickups

glassmoon

G'day all

So, NBD (yesterday) for me, a Cort GB-75JH. I've got a set of Lakland JH pickups to bung in.

My question, and this really is and all opinions welcome thing... without breaking the bank, which preamp is a good match?

* I would love an East 4-band, but it's a lot of money sadly

* I would prefer a preamp with a lot of bottom end oomph. Mids I can manage from my pedalboard preamp

* 9v only as I don't fancy routing this bass

* I've had a lot of experience with Seymour Duncan preamp, and they are undoubtedly wonderful, but will they be a match for the Lakland set?

Anyway, my thanks in advance. No suggestion will be ignored 😊

Julian

Edited by glassmoon

• glassmoon changed the title to Matching a preamp with Lakland JH pickups

Ah, sorry, I didn't mention that.

The bass has 4 holes. Most preamp manufacturers have 4 knob options thankfully.

Sound is such a fluctuating issue for me. Inasmuch as I've always loved that dry-as-a-bone tone, a la Janek Gwizdala and Matt Garrison, I now only play in function bands, so it's more of the deep bottom, well rounded sound. Mike Porcaro with Toto, Pino with John Mayer, Lee Sklar with, well, just about everyone.

I'm not a fan of the top end, I prefer the tone of a P to a J bass, but I do need the flexibility to favour the bridge vibe too.

I'm perhaps asking for a bit much here 😂

2 hours ago, LukeFRC said:

@LukeFRC

John East stuff is very clean and clear sounding....an Aguilar for example will have way more colour to it.  

I've owned an Aguilar Tone Hammer preamp pedal before and it was terrific. What worries me is trying, with my criticality limited knowledge of such things, is how to connect the dinky black box with the wires to the pots, and moreover, I'll need to get new pots to cater for the mid and stacked bass/treble config.

Any takers for Bartolini?

• 2 weeks later...

Anyone? 

Lakland pickups about to go in. 

4 knobs.