Why become a member? ×

Hartke Strings

kevbass

Hello ladies and gents, I should be recieving that OLP with the sterling pup in the post tommorow, so I want to throw on some new strings and I'd like to try something new, I always go with ernie ball slinkys or D'addario but I fancy a change. I am on a bit of a budget so as much as I'd like to try some DR blacks or Elites I cant afford them right now. Hartke strings seem to be quite cheap and its a name I'm familiar with. I have had a look on ebay and there are manufacturers who claim their strings are great and cheap and usa made etc but Im not familar with the brands and I'm a bit put off to get these. So, Hartke seem like a good option, anyone had any experience with these?

[quote name='stingrayfan' post='269760' date='Aug 25 2008, 08:57 PM']Got a triple-pack of these and they're very good. I'm no string expert though. Defo worth experimenting if you get them at a good price.

Edit: [url="http://www.calllarryhartke.com/"]phone Larry Hartke up[/url] and ask him who makes them.[/quote]

Alright thats good enough for me, I'll pick up a pack from the bay this evening

I bought 3 sets from eBay for something stupid like £11 and for the price they can't be knocked. They are 'probably' never going to rival DR strings for pure tone in a recording situation etc but it'd be an idiot that could claim that DR strings were ten times better than the Hartke ones if stuck on a cheap/mid priced bass used for playing down the local. :)

Got 2 sets of hartke strings and broke twice the B string while tuning it up to B (and no, I didnt tune them past B ). They broke at the tuning peg 3 semitones before they reached the B. Gave the other 4 strings to a friend that plays a 4stringer and wont buy that crap anymore.

Edited by Fraktal