Why become a member? ×

Multitrack recording on your own??

Jamesemt

I've got a few song ideas that I'd like to get recorded, but have never done it before. So where do you begin?

I am a competent guitarist, and would like to do it all myself (might get a drum program...).

I'm not hoping for something overly professional, as I don't want to spend a lot. Saying that, would like it to sound like a proper demo.

I can't sing and play, so I need multitrack software, but whats decent and cheap/free?

I can initially record an acoustic guitar with my Zoom H2, and am willing to buy a decent soundcard (don't want to spend over £100).

I've never even dabbled before, so I'm guessing I'll record the acoustic first to get an idea of structure.

Any advice? Website links?

I used to have a Zoom MRS4 digital multitrack that I adored. I think I still have it.

I used to sit at my computer with my bass and make the drum track on the computer with bass in hand. When I was happy I put that on the multi track and then recorded everything else over it. What was great about it was that I sent the recorder to lots of friends who played other things over the drum/bass track. I didn't point them in any direction at all and when I recieved it back it was great to hear whet they made of it.

Once I recorded a basic drum track, recorded the bass, sent it to the guitar player, he sent it to my brother to record his OWN drums (live) and then it came back to me for some keyboard bits and some more guitar from my other friend. What happened was something I feel was my most 'fun' musical piece ever, totally unplanned and tasteless, showing off from each band member and just really funny. No wonder the band was called 'Crap'

I will upload the track for your amusement ASAP!!

Good luck, and I whole heartedly recommend the MRS-4, cheap and fantastic quality (you get what you put in, essentially). Do budget fro a larger capacity compactflash card though.

Cheers
ped