Why become a member? ×

Thunderbird Fret Buzz

Samashton12

Hey Guys,

Ever since i got my Thunderbird in December its buzzed from the 1st to 5th fret, the action is perfect, but the bridge and bridge pickup are pretty high

It never really used to bother me but after playing my friends Tokai i envy the non-buzz on his lower frets :angry:

Any details on how to rectify this?

I'm new to the whole set up thing,

Thanks,
Sam :)

No disrespect intended whatsoever, but if you're getting fret buzz from the 1st - 5th fret then the action can't be perfect. It sounds to me like you might have a slight back bow in the neck (may have been over adjusted at some point in the past) and the action at the bridge has been raised to compensate (hence the high pickup). If you're new to setting up my advice is the same - take it to a local luthier or shop and pay them to do it for you. Should be 30 or 40 quid and worth every penny IMO. Have a look in the Recommended Luthiers thread... there has to be one in Liverpool.

P

[quote name='Samashton12' timestamp='1375703391' post='2164409']
Hey Guys,

Ever since i got my Thunderbird in December its buzzed from the 1st to 5th fret, the action is perfect, but the bridge and bridge pickup are pretty high

It never really used to bother me but after playing my friends Tokai i envy the non-buzz on his lower frets :angry:

Any details on how to rectify this?

I'm new to the whole set up thing,

Thanks,
Sam :)
[/quote]

Sounds like you need more relief in the neck. This means you need to slacken off the truss rod. Carefully.

[quote name='Samashton12' timestamp='1375800337' post='2165808']
Tiny turn in which direction, neepheid? :)
[/quote]

Left (anti-clockwise) to loosen - adds relief (effectively - it actually allows the string tension to pull more relief into the neck)
Right (clockwise) to tighten - reduces relief