Why become a member? ×

Fender Japan Jazz

alant

Newly advertised on Gumtree - looks a good deal to me, but I'm no expert:

[url="http://www.gumtree.com/p/for-sale/fender-62-reissue-sunburst-jazz-bass-made-in-japan/106899346"]www.gumtree.com/p/for-sale/fender-62-reissue-sunburst-jazz-bass-made-in-japan/106899346[/url]

[quote name='mckendrick' timestamp='1342534364' post='1736713']
Indeed. Far too good to be true, is that. It's an alder body and big tuners, so... it'll have a spiral bridge and US pick-ups. That's a very minimum £450 bass.

I'm so intrigued, I've replied.

I shall go with great caution.
[/quote]

it doesn't need to have. There are two japanese '62ri models- one with spiral bridge, US pickups and alder body and one with jap pickups and basswood body. Depending on the age it may or mayn't have the spiral bridge. Tuners on both will be jap (metric) sizes needing a smaller hole in the wood than a american (imperial measurement) size one.

[quote name='LukeFRC' timestamp='1342539208' post='1736811']
it doesn't need to have. There are two japanese '62ri models- one with spiral bridge, US pickups and alder body and one with jap pickups and basswood body. Depending on the age it may or mayn't have the spiral bridge. Tuners on both will be jap (metric) sizes needing a smaller hole in the wood than a american (imperial measurement) size one.
[/quote]

My 62 reissue had the spiral saddles and the larger size vintage tuners with the normal 18mm peg size with a strap button on the back of the headstock. It also had the copper earthing strip going from the bridge to the copper pickup plates (which is the way they used to earth jazzes back in 62). If it doesn't have the large vintage tuners and the spiral saddles it's not a 62 reissue (lots of other Japanese Jazzes still have the copper earthing strip).