Why become a member? ×

I know nothing...

njr911

about bass amps.

I was a guitaris until about 5 years ago when I gave up to get married have kids.

Got back into a band playing the bass and have a lovely Squier CV Jazz.

As a guitarist I've had some lovely stuff...Marshall Bluesbreaker, Vox AC30, Fender Silverface Twin.

Are there comparable bass amps ?

I love vintage valve combos, portable and sound sweet. I don't like big bloated 70's stacks.

:)

Cheers
Neil

There's a whole host of stuff, from old (& new) valve combos from the likes of Ampeg, SWR, Ashdown & Mesa Boogie to Solid State lightweight stuff from Markbass, GenzBenz, TC Electronics, etc.

Depends on your budget.

MMMmm magic words...Mesa Boogie.

Not really shopping as yet, just trying to find out what's out there that's similar to what I already know coming from combos.

I think I'll probably start with a Roland Cube for gigging but would like to feed my knowledge base.

The best place to look is in the "For Sale" section on here. A lot of good stuff for whatever budget & usually at decent prices.
I went with a Markbass combo as it weighs very little. I carry bass over my shoulder, combo in one hand & pedal board in the other.

Also up there in the lightweight stakes are PhilJonesBass (PJB), although the design philosophy (essentially HiFi) does divide opinion somewhat and it is quite pricey (though not as much as Markbass). If money's not too much of an issue there's some seriously good heads out there with bags of power and next to no weight (TC, Genz Benz, GK, etc. etc.), that you can hook up to equally impressive and lightweight cabs (Barefaced is a great example of this - run by Alex Claber who just so happens to be a member of this forum).

I speak as a guitarist of many years and numerous bands by the way. In case you don't already know, generally speaking bass players need more power than guitarists - 300w or so seems to be a benchmark for stage work (but again opinions will vary).