Why become a member? ×

Copper Shielding

lobematt

I wanna shield my basses but this is my first little venture in this neck of the woods so I've got a few questions...

Will I need to shield everything to make a difference? (The pickup cavities, back of pick guard and electronics cavity?)

And also how far would a 20 x 30cm sheet get me? Baring in mind this is my first attempt so may not be the neatest job in the world!

[quote name='lobematt' post='1310580' date='Jul 20 2011, 05:32 PM']Haha, nice one mate. Did you have good results?[/quote]

Very good and well worth the effort.

It got rid of any hum or noise.

Just ensure you solder a wire from a pot can (or socket body) to the copper.

Job done :)

[quote name='lobematt' post='1310562' date='Jul 20 2011, 05:17 PM']And also how far would a 20 x 30cm sheet get me? Baring in mind this is my first attempt so may not be the neatest job in the world![/quote]
You can get a 4m x 25mm roll of anti-slug s/a copper tape in a garden centre for a fiver?

I've often read about people doing this. I can understand how it works and I assume people have had good reason to go to the trouble they do, so I'm not having a go, but . . .

1. I've never had any noise problems with my bog-standard MIJ Fender Precision

2. Most manufacturers don't shield their basses (I believe)

. . . which implies, to me, that it shouldn't be necessary.

So, when there's a noise problem, and I know there sometimes is, should we be looking elsewhere for the cause rather than reach for the copper tape?

[quote name='flyfisher' post='1310830' date='Jul 20 2011, 09:06 PM']I've often read about people doing this. I can understand how it works and I assume people have had good reason to go to the trouble they do, so I'm not having a go, but . . .

1. I've never had any noise problems with my bog-standard MIJ Fender Precision

2. Most manufacturers don't shield their basses (I believe)

. . . which implies, to me, that it shouldn't be necessary.