Why become a member? ×

Jam Night advice

burgundymouse

So, I've been noodling along to my laptop now for about 6 months and think its about time I went out into the big wide world and met other musicians. There's a jam night in a pub not far from me tomorrow. This is quite scary as a)no-one but my clearly deaf neighbours can hear me at the moment, and :) I've only been playing bass for 6 months. Never having been to any of these things before I wondered if anyone had any advice ("just don't" probably not being helpful!) . I'm a single girl who's musician friends are all friends of the ex-husband so no chance of me dragging more experienced mates along. So is turning up alone weird? What shoud I expect? How good will everyone be and indeed how does it all work? Advice very gratefully received!

The range of musicians will be from the sublime to the ridiculous, but go along, put your bass in the car, and at least go and watch what happens. If you find there is no other bass player there make yourself known, you may be on all night. If there is another bass player, ask if you can do a couple of numbers and suggest something you know well, chances are the other muso's will know it.

Most of all, no-one will judge you, go and enjoy it.

Steve

Have you been just to watch yet? That's rule 1 just to see the format and get a feel for it, Maybe introduce yourself to someone that's involved as 99% of them will be welcoming to you and tell them your position so they can put you with suitable players which IMO should be the better ones to help you out. See or ask what songs are regular features down there and learn them for next time. Perhaps take a list of numbers you could do because you will forget as soon as your asked "what do you know then?"

Knowing how to play within a key is the jammers secret but don't tell all the groove by ear players and don't worry at 6 months if your not a theory master.