Why become a member? ×

Capacitors - pickups. Should I bother?

holio.cornolio

Hello All,
I've been using a Fender CS 64 Jazz reissue for about 18 months now. It's the first Jazz Bass I've ever picked up that I actually liked the sound of, and over the past 18 months I've become unnaturally attached to it. Like all my gear, though, eventually I feel the need to scratch an itch, and although I wouldn't consider selling it, I can't overcome the feeling that I need to pimp it somehow.... I have been toying with the idea of simply upgrading the pots etc and seeing what that does, but perhaps slightly more drastically, I feel that changing pickups might make it more 'mine'. It came with Fender's standard 'vintage Jazz Bass' pickup set which sounds great to my ears, but seeing as they're from a relatively lowly point in Fenders range, I wonder if putting something slightly more tasty in might bring the bass more 'alive'. The stupid thing is, there isn't anything about the sound of this bass that I don't like, but I can't help wondering if a more expensive pickup would make it EVEN BETTER!!! Is it worth it, or am I simply being the kind of wet behind the ears, know nothing, dimwit that the 'boutique' pickup marketeers dream of about?

The slippery slope of pickups..........

I went thru trying out different pickups/bridges, trying to improve tone, only to find out that I actually prefer stock Fender pickups, though many don`t.

Plenty of people on here rate Wizard pickups, and apparently the guy there is very helpful, and will put together what you are after. Added bonus is they also aren`t excessive on price.

[quote name='holio.cornolio' post='1067620' date='Dec 23 2010, 11:27 AM']The stupid thing is, there isn't anything about the sound of this bass that I don't like,[/quote]
If there is nothing that you don't like, what could actually make it better?