Why become a member? ×

Help me find a bass!

andykelly

Hi guys
Looking to buy my first bass, i've been borrowing a Fender USA Jazz, Musicman Stingray and Ibanez SR-500 lately and have played a friends P Bass once. I've been playing guitar for around 10 years and so would like to get something half decent. My budget is up to £1000 and i have a good idea of what i want in a bass, just not which bass will give me that!

Tonally - i love the thickness of P basses and the clarity of J basses, i notice there are a few P/J bass pickup combinations about so this could be an option?
Feel - I found the nut width on a P bass too wide for me, something closer to the thin J bass or Ibanez nut width with the depth and action of an ibanez?
Aethetics - I'm not overly fussed, i.e. it doesn't have to be a specific model, but i do much prefer a more traditional shape?

Does such a thing exist? And if so am i unreasonable to expect to get it at £1000 or less?

Cheers
Andy

Either the Fender Aerodyne Jazz Bass, or the Fender Duff McKagan Signature Bass will probably have what yr after. Check them out on Fenders website for specifics on the neck size, in comparison to the Standard Precision & Jazz models.

[quote name='andykelly' post='1048576' date='Dec 5 2010, 07:06 PM']Hi guys
Looking to buy my first bass, i've been borrowing a Fender USA Jazz, Musicman Stingray and Ibanez SR-500 lately and have played a friends P Bass once. I've been playing guitar for around 10 years and so would like to get something half decent. My budget is up to £1000 and i have a good idea of what i want in a bass, just not which bass will give me that!

Tonally - i love the thickness of P basses and the clarity of J basses, i notice there are a few P/J bass pickup combinations about so this could be an option?
Feel - I found the nut width on a P bass too wide for me, something closer to the thin J bass or Ibanez nut width with the depth and action of an ibanez?