Why become a member? ×

Effects and pedals?

swinleybass

im new to pedals, I recently bought my first pedal off the for sale section. But of course i want more i only want about four pedals but i need to know the best ones for bass the ons i have thought about are.

Boss ODB-3 (almost definite)
Morley bass Wah pedal
Danelectro reel echo.
Boss chromatic tuner
Boss LMB-3

any i shouldent buy or better alternatives, would be helpful thanks
Caylan

What kind of music do you play?

For rock stuff, things like overdrive and fuzz are quite often used, for funk you'll find more filters and synths, ambient music will use lots of delays and reverb etc. Do you have a budget also?

ok um i play a huge variety from punk to funk to indie. But mainly red hot chilis and improv funk riffs

budget wisse dosent matter to much i dont really wanna spend more then a hundred on a single pedal but if its highly advised i will, this is going to be other quite a long time

Truckstop i would search around on youtube i found the Eletro-Harmonix holiest grail which seemed pretty versatile so you may be able ot get those sounds

Edited by swinleybass

Alternatives? Without going really expensive it's worth trying the Bass Big Muff and the Ashdown Hyperdrive for distortion(I don't
get on with the Boss one). For Wah's you could try the Bass Crybaby or even an autowah(envelope filter). For delay,the Boss DD's
are pretty standard. Tuner-Boss,Korg and TC Electronic are all good. And for compression you could try something like the Aphex
Punch Factory.
There are loads of good pedals around,and the above ones aren't stupidly expensive either. It really is worth popping into a few
shops and trying a whole bunch of pedals out.

Been messing about with an MXR el grande bass fuzz for the last week and I'm well impressed. Personally I find most of the Boss fx to be bland.
A good Chorus like the EBS unichorus would be a good option and also maybe a octave/pitch shifter.