Why become a member? ×

Differences in Double Bass Strings :)

pegman1

So its come time for me to change my double bass strings, Im a student and this is the the first set I'm buying and I'm just wandering if anyone could tell me the difference in the types of strings you can get, for example, differences between gut strings and any others you can get. I was talking to a bass player about a month ago who said he liked to use velvet strings as they allowed him to get bite on the string were a little bit looser and offered a bit more warmth tonally. I'm a jazz player and I like the tone of Paul Chambers alot and also Larry Grenadier. Any words of wisdom welcome! Matt

[quote name='pegman1' post='778057' date='Mar 17 2010, 10:05 PM']So its come time for me to change my double bass strings, Im a student and this is the the first set I'm buying and I'm just wandering if anyone could tell me the difference in the types of strings you can get, for example, differences between gut strings and any others you can get. I was talking to a bass player about a month ago who said he liked to use velvet strings as they allowed him to get bite on the string were a little bit looser and offered a bit more warmth tonally. I'm a jazz player and I like the tone of Paul Chambers alot and also Larry Grenadier. Any words of wisdom welcome! Matt[/quote]

Trolling the US Talkbass forum, I came across this useful string sample matrix

[url="http://www.hervejeanne.de/saitenmatrix.php"]http://www.hervejeanne.de/saitenmatrix.php[/url]

...this should start you off ...

For me is Evah's until I have money to try gut strings. Had Spirocores before - good at pizzicato (jazz workhorse), not that good with bow. I also tried Cordes Lambert for a cheap synthetic version of gut (look like giant rubber bands) - great easy tension, almost no sustain although big loud plump thump, warm arco sound - these are possibly rockabilly heaven.