Why become a member? ×

Clacking strings

bungle

After a recent string change, I'm finding that when I play a note from about the 7th fret onwards on my E-string the vibration of the string is catching the fretboard further down towards the 15th fret, making a nasty clacking noise and choking the notes a bit. It gets worse the harder I play, and if I detune the string to D, which I need to for a song.

The action seems reasonable - it's certainly not perilously low. Is this symptomatic of a lack of relief or too much relief in the neck, and is a tweak of the truss rod likely to solve it?

I'm not an expert but it sounds like too much relief in the neck to me. Put your elbow on the end of the fretboard (body end) and hold down the thickest string, then with your other hand, fret the same string on the first fret. If there's more than a credit card width of play at the 7th fret then you probably need to tighten the truss rod a bit. I do it gradually - a quarter turn each day until I get the desired result - be patient while the neck settles. You may need to raise the bridge saddles slightly too once the neck's settled.

Edited by niceguyhomer

I think the new strings are a touch heavier - it'd been so long since it'd been restrung I had no idea what gauge was on previously, otherwise I'd have rebought the same.

Now I think about it - heavier strings would have a higher tension, putting more relief in to the neck and thus making the truss rod need a tighten.

Cheers guys

[quote name='bungle' post='718181' date='Jan 19 2010, 06:15 PM']I think the new strings are a touch heavier - it'd been so long since it'd been restrung I had no idea what gauge was on previously, otherwise I'd have rebought the same.

Now I think about it - heavier strings would have a higher tension, putting more relief in to the neck and thus making the truss rod need a tighten.

Cheers guys[/quote]

when you change strings..even the same gauges same make...recheck all the settings