Why become a member? ×

Cuban rhythms

Ray

I was at a recording session last night and one of the tracks was a latin thing. I'm a complete latin novice!

The drummer on the session suggested we play it in a cuban style! :) "Eh? How does that go then?" I thought!

He explained the rhythm to me - where you might play root/five (or root/passing note) on one and three respectively in a bossanova for example, you play on beat four of the previous bar and the upbeat between beats two and three.

It took a couple of minutes to get my head around it but when I did... what a groove!!

I'm definitly going to be checking out some more cuban music.

BTW, the drummer was Marc Cecil from Robin Jones Latin Jazz Sextet and King Salsa. Top bloke and amazing drummer.

They are great grooves and it takes a lot of time to nail them. Its not so hard to play a groove with the accent on 4, but when you start actually playing compositions with complex changes, adding fills, accents, changes of groove etc, you really have to get into that way of hearing stuff to be able to make the music work.

But, yes, its great stuff and really refereshing if its new to you.

This is a great buy.

[url="http://www.musicroom.com/se/ID_No/030950/details.html"]http://www.musicroom.com/se/ID_No/030950/details.html[/url]

Cant beat the real thing - listen to as much as possible.
Me and my wife have had about half a dozen trips to Cuba.
And seeing and hearing it played in the real environment is a real thrill and education.

Ray, i am just over the creek from you - Canvey :)
Not quite Cuba.

Garry

[quote name='leftybassman392' post='608456' date='Sep 25 2009, 10:32 AM']Looks so simple and sounds great when you do get it right, but takes more work than you'd think (as I'm sure Bilbo would confirm).[/quote]